Electronic Press Kit

*click images for hi res

HOMETOWN: Vancouver, BC
GENRE: Post rock/instrumental/ambient
MEMBERS: Isaac Jeffs (guitar), Kai Furugori (percussion), Eric Furugori (guitar/bass)

PRESS: Adam Sharp - adam@bigsmokevancouver.com - 604.715.4457
BOOKING: Isaac Jeffs - isaackjeffs@gmail.com - 778.388.9356


Spruce Trap is a Vancouver-based post rock band formed in 2012 by guitarist Isaac Jeffs and drummer Kai Furugori. True to their West Coast roots, the pair would twice-weekly hike their city’s celebrated North Shore trails before returning home to experiment with ambient music inspired by their adventures, and quickly they recruited Eric Furugori on bass and second guitar to expand their tonal options.

On December 2nd, 2016, Spruce Trap released a follow up to their 2014 debut EP: a full-length ominously titled The Wise Prefer To Perish. The occasion was marked with a free show to over 400 guests at Vancouver’s historic Christ Church Cathedral and the performance was recorded in 5.1 surround sound for release later this year.

Ahead of a tour that takes them down the West Coast this month, the band has released a video of the closing track from that night titled Justice For Her. The piece features five distinct movements that take the listener on a 17-minute journey, punctuated by mountainous crescendos and lush melodic transitions symbolic of the group's Pacific Northwest home. Sonically it sits somewhere between the prodigious film scores of Trent Reznor and Hans Zimmer, and the quasi-classical instrumental rock of fellow Canadians, Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Footage from the evening is intercut with the abstract projections that backlit the band on the cathedral stage.

Spruce Trap will be on tour down the West Coast June 18th - July 2nd in support of their recent full-length, The Wise Prefer To Perish.


No current shows


ARTIST: Spruce Trap
TITLE: The Wise Prefer To Perish
LABEL: Big Smoke / Eagle Time Records
RELEASE DATE: December 2nd, 2016
FORMAT: 200 x 150g 12" black vinyl / digital via iTunes, Spotify, Bandcamp, etc.
FFO: Explosions In The Sky, Trent Reznor, The Antlers, Godspeed You! Black Emperor

N.B. This page for promotional purposes only.